Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Do we learn more from the people whose ideas contradict of our own or from those people whose views are in accord with ours? The speaker claims so, for the reason sometimes disagreement can cause stress and can impede learning. I agree that disagreement sometimes do have negative impact on the learnig process, but viewing the idea from multiple aspects would be give a insightful answer.

Learning is the process of gaining insight and knowledge over the subject that otherwise we are ignorant. A debate that proceeds with the people having same thoughts and perspectives impedes the chance of viewing the process from other point of view. This makes the person parochial and haughty and one might completely avoid the people who propose unconventional thoughts. Best example can be Socrates who opposed the views of the narrow-minded society and provided insights which are even followed today, but unfortunately this resulted in the killing of him by the same people who in the fear of opposing the conventional views resorted to ultimate move.

Debates with the people of opposing views is beneficial in myriad ways. It can change the total perspective, it can provide immediate answers, it can provide different approaches to solve an issue and helps in the development of the individual personally, politically and globally. For example, in the global level, Indian Space Research Organization with its recent failure of Chandrayan-2 if believes that its strategy is correct and refutes suggestions from other space research organizations like NASA, it can result in devastation. Accepting its flaws, improving the strategy based on suggestions provided and proceeding to not repeat the same mistake shall result in success.

In political level, instead of debating that one's own views are correct followed by support from its fellow party citizens no progress can be resulted. Taking the views of opposition party and working on it helps for the overall development of the nation.

I agree sometimes disagreement can result in stress and impedes the growth, in such cases research about the issue help to comprehend the issue. Considering the maxim that 'Empty vessels make much sound', if one has sound knowledge about the issue proving others the path they have taken wrong and the way of dealing the problem is wrong in a more temperate way can promote harmony.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that sharing, debating with the people having opposing ideas helps gain knowledge form different point of views and prove that one might not be correct all the time and promote the nation towards development and advancement rather than adopting the conventional way of thinking.