The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

The memo from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants states the effects of replacement of butter by margarine in some of their restaurants. The manager mentions that there are no significant negative effects of the change other than a few complaints, concluding that either the customers cannot differentiate between the two or they refer to both the products as butter. Even though the argument might seem plausible, a deeper analysis is required to accede to it.

Firstly, the reason of replacement has not been mentioned anywhere by the business manager. Possible sensible reasons might be the low availability of butter in the market, higher costs. The facts regarding why the replacement was done in the first place is the backbone of the argument, which is missing. The author needs to incorporate the required reasons in the argument for the readers to have a clear view of the situation.

Secondly, the manager has concluded that not many people are affected by the replacement because only 2 percent of the customers have complained about it. This is very subjective as not all customers who have a problem will go to the management and complain. The effect can only be found out by the decreasing customer count. These customers might give negative feedback to their friends and family, thus abating the customer base. The restaurants should incorporate some feedback system to get better insights from the customers.

Lastly, the author has mentioned that the reasons why people aren’t affected by the change is either because they call both butter and margarine as ‘butter’ or they don’t understand the difference. There is a variation in both the cases and they shouldn’t be generalised into one conclusion. If both the products are considered as ‘butter’ by the customers, it’s not a problem. But if the customers are unaware of the replacement, it might be a point of concern. Even though they look similar, the contents of both the products might be different. There might be a possibility of some customer having an allergy issue with margarine as is unaware of the replacement by the restaurant. This would not only end up in deteriorated health of the customer but also portray a negative image of the restaurant in the public.

Thus, if the manager is able to provide answers and supporting facts for the above concerns will the readers be able to affirm with the conclusion of the manager.