The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The Happy Pancake Restaurant business manager stated that the replacement of butter by changing it to margarine didn’t affect the restaurant business. The manager have vome to this conclusion based on low amount of complain after this applied in the Happy restaurant. However, before this conclusion can be properly evaluated, there are three answer must be to answered.

First of all, the costumer the one that complain might not the one that is unhappy with the change. It is possible that costumer that costumers are unhappy even though they didn’t complaint. Most costumers nowadays won’t be complaining when the food is not on their liking, but they will just not be coming again to the restaurant. Further, there are possibility that people don’t complain the change from butter to margarine because they are new to the restaurant and they won’t complain due to the change of butter to margarine as they never tasted the butter of the restaurant. If one of these scenario is true, then the original statement will be significantly weaker.

Secondly, the costumers might be able to distinguish between butter and margarine even when they didn’t complain about it. Rather than complaining, the costumer might just ask for butter from other servers and assume that the server can’t distinguish butter and margarine. The costumer might also just don’t complain because they thought that the margarine might be recommended by the chef for the menu If the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, the author assume people that didn’t complain feels similar taste between margarine and butter. The conversion from margarine to butter might cause some consumer to stop coming to the restaurant as they don’t like the margarine, but also might attract new costumer that prefer margarine over butter. This low complain rate might be cause by people that prefer butter over margarine stop coming to the restaurant and cause the survey to have only 2% complain due to it. If this is true, this will weaken the statement greatly.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is extremely flawed because of the reliance of several unwarranted assumptions. If the author able to make sure that all the assumptions above is true and offer more evidence, then it might possible that the change from butter to margarine might not affect the costumers of the Happy restaurants.