'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The author has presented his argument by stating that if the television station restores the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level by replacing national news, it will attract more viewers and that they will also avoid losing advertising revenues. However, the argument is not tenable as the argument is backed by pieces of evidence that are not valid. As a result, the argument becomes dubious.

By stating the decision of the station to devote more time to national news and less time to weather and local news, the author has made a weak statement. He has not specified the duration of the increased show time. It might be that the difference in time is negligible to affect the local population. It is a speculation on the author's part and he is not providing the whole information to support his statement. He should have mentioned the earlier timings and the updated ones, which would have supported his claim in a better way.

Next, the author assumes that the complaints increased complaints regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news must be due to their decreased broadcast time. The complaints might be regarding a decline in the quality of local news coverage, or due to improper weather reporting. The local public may also be unhappy with some local news, which could have led to this increase in complaints. So, in order to validate his assumptions the author should have mentioned solid pieces of evidence to support his claim.

Citing the cancellation of advertising contracts during late-night news programs by local businesses as an impact of reducing local news and weather coverage time is a weak attempt by the author as he has assumed it to be the sole reason behind such incidences. It might be that the local businesses would have found a better station to advertise or the relationship between the station and local companies may have worsened over time. There could be numerous reasons behind these incidences. But blaming increased national news coverage timing without any evidence is irresponsible on the author's part.

The author concludes that by restoring the devoted time to weather and local news to its formal level, more viewers will be attracted to the program and the station will avoid losing any further advertising revenues. This assumption is based on fallacious logic and has not been backed by proper evidence. Extensive usage of vague terminology and erroneous assumptions make the author's cited claim incredible.