The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to

national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of

the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage

of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise

during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with

us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid

losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather

and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager in a memorandum stated that they want to attract more viewers to watch the program and avoid the loss of advertising revenue by restoring the time assigned to weather and local news to old times. However, the process by which the author reached the conclusion has logical inconsistency and unjustified assumptions. Primarily, two questions must be answered before the argument can be properly evaluated.

Firstly, How many complaints were received? The article doesn't mention the number of complaints. For example, we say there are daily 5 complaints registered every day out of which 3 are regarding the coverage of local and weather news the number of complaints is not enough for the system to change for a few people. We might need solid proof stating many people are facing this issue. If that might be the case, it can be justified by taking a survey of the people who like watching during that time.

Secondly, What is the guarantee it will attract the viewers? There might be no assurance the number of viewers will be increased as soon as the schedules are restored. For example, some viewers might love watching the national news so they might stop watching the television. We would require strong evidence stating that people are more interested in watching the national news or the local news and weather news. If that might be the case, it can be justified by taking votes from the people to see the majority which helps the minority to understand their numbers which will solve the issue.

In a nutshell, the business manager reached a conclusion by looking at the complaints raised by an indefinite number of people and with no assurance that after restoring the time assigned for weather and local news to their old times. A survey of the people who like watching during that time. A solid proof o that assumption is lacking in the claim. More reasoning and linking of cause