The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station:

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum from the business manager of a television station, it is stated that in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid lossing any further advertising revenues, they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The author has come to this conclusion based on the increase that the program gives to national news in reduction to the time given to weather and local news, in addition to some complains and the cancelation of advertising contracts. However, it is necessary theer specif evidences to evaluate the argument properly.

To begin, the first needed evidence is to know if the quality of weather and local news have decreased or not. They have received complains about the coverge of such news. But a good coverage can be done with less time and better quality. If they increase the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, they could receive complains too. Because more time is not a guarrante of a better coverage. Moreover, such complains could be solve with a survey asking to the public how many time they want to dedicate to weather and local news. If the survey showed that the quality is poor, then the author's argument would be weakened.

Socondly, the next needed evidence is to know why some businesses have canceled their advertising contracts. The author is falling in the fallacy of believe that because the program's format has changed, then companies wanted to stop their advertising contracts. But there could be more resons for that. For instance, those companies maybe have changed their advertising policy and now they are making contracts with social networks such as Facebook or Twitter to put their ads there. Another alternative explanation could be that those companies are dealing with financial problems so they had to reduce cost and cancel some advertising contracts. If this was the case, restore to the former level of time dedicated to weather and local news would not solve the problem and the author's argument would be weakened.

Thirdly, the last needed evidence is to know if there is another idea that could bring more televidents. The author is saying that it is enough just with the return to the previous program's format. But, suppose that the public's preferences have changed and now they want more information about sports or economics. Moreover, even giving such news, the journalist's quality is also importany. What if the current journalists have not the enough knowledge of how transmit the new kind of information related to national news. If this was true, the author's argument would also be weakened.

To conclude, the argument, as it stands now, is considerable flawed because the author is relying on many unstated assumptions. If the author is able to provide the three needed evidences mentioned above, a proper evaluation of the argument could be done.