The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above statement, the writer asserts that more time devoted to the weather and local news, as before, will attract more viewers and stop the deviation the advertisement companies make from this stations.While supporting the argument, the author makes numerous assumptions that cannot be taken for granted with the current lacking evidence to support his claim. Thus, further evidence is needed to make the assertion more plausible.

Firstly, the author assumes that complaints regarding the coverage of weather and local news indicates an overall and general problem of the television station for it to lose viewers. However, it may not be the case. There is no evidence of whether the number of complaints is large enough to make a conclusion.There could have been a very small number of complaints, even smaller than from the ones that were from past years ago. The author might be misleded from this statement that among the mere number of complaints, the ratio of the coverage problem could have been the subject that were focused on. Therefore, further evidence pertaining to the validity of the complaints should be validated, in order to let the author's assertion more valid.

Secondly, the number of advertisements being waning during the late night news time is said to be responsible to the small time devoted to the weather and local news is not conclusively proven. Advertisements could have decreased because the television station required more money towards those advertising company to advertise compared to other stations or compared to other time period. Or, in other way around, other television stations could have offered more perquisites compared to the television station which are being discussed currently. As such, more detailed evidence whether which induced the advertisements to decrease should be checked in order to make the author's conclusion more perceivable.

Lastly, the writer assumes that national news time does not affect the number of viewers the station holds onto and also the advertising company. Howver, when the station devotes more time to weather and local news, it naturally decreases devotion toward the national news. However, people might have liked the current coverage of the national news that they don't want to change. If they decrease the time for the natinoal news, even more viewers might fly away from this station.

In sum, the author's claim is not conclusively strong as it stands in its current form. Further evidence whether the complaints are large enough to make a conclusion, the genuine reason for advertisements getting away from this station, and viewers preference on the time devoted to the national news should be warranted to make the author's assertion more valid.