The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Television is a numbers game, with the powers that be focusing extensively on viewership. The pressure to maintain strong viewership has led this television station manager to make changes to the programming, but unfortunately, has reached a conclusion based on faulty assumptions.

The manager is inferring a causal relationship between the decrease in time of local news and weather to the decrease in advertising contracts. However, correlation does not equal causation. In an often-quoted study, researchers found that the number of murders goes up with the amount of ice cream sold. If one were to assume that correlation equaled causation one would have to conclude that buying ice cream makes an individual more likely to murder someone. However, the truth behind the data is likely that an increase in temperature leads to both increased ice cream sales and increased tempers. Similarly, simply because both local news and advertising contracts have gone down, the manager cannot conclude the two are related. The advertisers could have a whole host of complaints that have nothing to do with the network's television coverage.

The manager also makes an illogical leap when it comes to reviewers' complaints. He mentions that they are complaining about the coverage of weather and local news, but he does not state that they are complaining about the lack of it. It is possible that they are complaining about the quality of it, and by introducing more of it, the viewers would be driven further away. Even if that were their true complaint, the viewers that have left are not guaranteed to come back. They might have already found a network they preferred, and might have moved on without a backwards glance.

Although the television manager's ideas are likely motivated by a desire to succeed, in order to feel confident in moving forward with those decisions, he would need to obtain more evidence to support his assertions. To start, he should obtain information from the advertisers regarding their decision to decline the contract renewal. If the issue is the lack of local news coverage, then it would make sense to enhance that area of programming. Additionally, the manager should obtain more information about the viewers' complaints. If he were to find the lack of coverage is truly the main issue, his decision to increase that area would make sense.

In order to cement the success of the television station, the manager needs to do some more work to ensure that his asssertions are correct. There are too many possible motives for the viewers leaving and the advertisers not renewing to move forward with his current plan. Without gathering more information about the thought processes of the viewers and advertisers, the manager is running the risk of running his network into the ground.