The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In order to really tell what is happening with the news station in question, a few things should be looked at, namely how much time has actually moved away from the weather and local news, what does the decline in viewers really look like, and why these local businesses are really moving away.

In terms of how much focus has shifted away from local news, what is happening in the world at large that might contribute to this decline. If events are not happening locally the same way they were last year then this might contribute to less time being devoted to the local news. News stations have a designated amount of time to fill and if there is no way to fill that time with the local news that they have then it becomes imperative to switch to talking about national news. Without accounting for this world-at-large idea, the argument is weakened because it is restricting the argument to be smaller than it should be.

Another thing to provide evidence for is the decline of viewers of late-night news. This relates back to the above idea about looking at the world at large and not relying upon the ideas that the station manager may have. Take polls of the general public, look at the viewership reports and see if there is any other evidence that might support the claim that viewers are leaving because they are not seeing local news. Otherwise, it could be any number of things that might account for the decline in viewers. An aging population that no longer has energy to stay up and watch late-night news would cause a decline in viewers, as would a younger population that might disregard local, late-night news for more entertaining shows that are at the same time. As the argument is at this moment, there is no evidence to support that people are leaving late-night news because they are dissatisfied with the lack of local news.

Finally, there needs to be evidence of businesses pulling sponsorship to back up the original claim. Businesses could be pulling advertising because they are leaving the area and advertising would not help them anymore. Or maybe they see the viewership decline and are pulling out for other reasons. Either way, there needs to evidence of why these businesses are leaving to really make the argument strong.