The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author's statement and conclusions regarding an attempt to increase the advertising revenues seems inept. There are several assumption, that are not stated and false assumptions stated which may seem lacing depth. Though, the manager's intention is quiet acquainted with good intention, the non-stated assumptions or the false assumptions made is making the argument futile. Thus, the total argument is filled with loop holes that needs to be addressed and is inherently flawed.

Firstly, the author is stating that complaints regarding not telecasting the weather news and the local news by the viewers. The author is not stating that which and what all the news programs are being telecast through out the day or is it that the news channel is made available only during nights. Without this information, the complaints seem pointless. It may be the fact that the local news and the weather news is being shown at some time everyday in the morning or noon hours or so. Hence, the author's statements about worrying about the viewer's complaints seem futile.

Secondly, the author is also not stating that at what time what news is being telecast previously and currently. Without this knowledge, the author is stating that the tact to attract the viewers, is better to telecast the local and weather news to its former level. This is not quiet agreeable. One more point which is missing here is the author is not stating that whether the local news telecast, was a live telecast or the recorder one. If it was the recorded one then the local business advertisements can be telecast at any time in the day. It may not always be true that the viewers will watch the news only at late night. Thus the conclusion made here is also not agreeable.

Thus, the assumptions and the conclusions made by the author is not satisfying to agree upon. Still greater and deeper study has to be made to understand why the complaints are lodged and the state the facts of news telecast timings to approve upon the statements stated.