The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager has suggested a television station to increase the time of weather and local news instead of devoting more time to national news on all of its late-night news programs. Here, the business manager has given several premises to strengthen his or her conclusion. But these premises rely on stated as well as hidden assumptions which when consider make the logic of argument weak.

Firstly, the business person cites that most of complaints, which were received from viewers, were subject to station's coverage of weather and local news. Here, the business person assumed that viewers were complaining duo to less time of weather and local news only. However, it is possible that people really didn't like the content and quality of weather and local news. Therefore, viewers complained to improve the quality of program. So, even if the weather and local news' broadcasting time were increased, it would not have attracted more viewers to station's news programs as the viewers’ concern were with quality of show and nothing to with less time of shows.

Secondly, the business person made a case of local businesses, which generally advertise in late-night news program, but now they have cancelled their advertising contracts with the television station duo to less time to weather and local news in stations' news programs. The business person assumed that local businesses didn't get a enough viewers as viewers didn't enjoy national news over weather and local news and, so their advertisement were not watched by views as it was before when more amount of time were allocated for weather and local news. However, it is possible that local businesses found out another way of targeting its customers. For an example, it may be a case that viewers were now preferred to watch news on internet and local businesses would likely to spend their budget on advertising on internet or any other medium. So, by looking to disinvestment of local businesses didn't make a convincing case of expand coverage of weather and local news on station's news programs over national news, since it wouldn't attract more viewers.

In general, it may be said that the business manager has failed to make a convincing case because lack of proper reasoning. The argument ends with an unjustified optimistic conclusion based on wishy-washy observations that is likely to be incorrect. However, if the business manager had given concrete evidence supporting these assumptions, his or her argument would have been more convincing.