The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from Mayor's office aims at building the multi-million dollar subway system. Although the plan thought out is better for every individual, it has a few sour spots which might hinder the plan.

Firsly, the planned path for subway is to serve in major areas where buses are only form of transportation. Although, it might serve as another means for the people to travel from these regions, it does not serve any useful purpose. Public transportation will always work the way it worked before. The subway line will only serve to decrease the number of passengers of bus, and not the traffic caused by it.

Secondly, as the arguement largly focuses on the buses, there is very little mention of the cause of congestion in Briggsville. The usual culprits in a traffic congestion are private vehicles travelling through the roadways. If the subway line is served in the regions of heavy congestion for the above private vehicle owners, then and only then would it serve useful in decreasing the traffic congestion.

And lastly, there is no statistical data shown along with the memorandum to accompany that the safety issues in a bus ride are responsible in increased congestion in any way. The idea of a person who has started using his/her vehicle to stay safe from the safety issues in the bus could be infered, but there is no data to go along with. But it could also be inferred that the said person started commmute either by bicycle or carpooling with a colleague, which would not increase any congestion on the road. There are many ambiguities associated with it.

In order to relieve Briggsville of it's notorious traffic congestion, the Mayor's office need to lay out a carefully thought out plan for the metro system, which should be backed by the data of the places with more congestion and other reasons for it's increase rather than wasting time on rhetoric such as buses