The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This memorandum from Mayor Harrison is commendable as it considers the plight of the citizens of Briggsville. However, the argument and the premise on which it is built are rife with flaws and gratuitous claims which render the recommendation unacceptable as a means to improve the economic state of the city.

Firstly, the argument makes an unwarranted assumption that citizens' time in traffic is the factor responsible for their low productivity. this is backed by the claim that reducing their time in traffic would immediately improve their work productivity. This claim fails to consider that not all workers go to work. For example, with the advent of technology, there is an increase in the number of workers who work from the comfort of their homes. Most tech workers now only require computer systems with stable power supply to work productivity. Therefore, there are other more important factors that affect worker productivity.

The argument also makes a specious assumption that public transportation is the only reason for the incessant traffic congestion. It further makes contradictions that the buses are not enough yet there is constant traffic congestion. This found in the claim that residents complain about the inconsistent buses. There are other factors that contribute to traffic congestion. For instance, there may be a higher percentage on non-commercial vehicles in on the roads. In this instance building a subway will not be a panacea for the incessant traffic connection. This renders the gratuitous assumption illogical and insufficient to back this reccommendation.

The argument also indirectly linked the poor economic state of the city to the traffic congestion observed. this is backed by the assumption that the increased worker productivity as a result of reduced traffic congestion will ultimately improve the economy of the city. there numerous other factors that affectbhe economy of the city such as revenue, corporate taxes and industrial development.

In conclusion, this recommendation by the mayor is specious because on further evaluation of the argument; the unwarranted association of the economic state of the city with the traffic congestion is not logical