The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing, Inc.

“According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie, our most popular

doll, 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the

doll’s features, the doll quickly wore out with use. In a follow-up survey of the same

parents, 80 percent reported that they would recommend a more durable version of the

doll to their friends. In response to these surveys, we have created the Elkie-Advanced

Doll, which has similar features to the original Elkie Doll but is manufactured using the

same higher quality materials used by Optima Doll Manufacturing, our most successful

competitor. Because parents can now purchase the beloved Elkie doll and be sure that it

won’t quickly wear out with use, we predict that our profits will exceed those of Optima

Doll Manufacturing this year.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order

to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be

sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn an optimistic conclusion from a disjointed idea that the profits of the Primo Doll Manufacturing company will definitely rise, after they have created the Elkie-Advanced Doll . In support of this argument he has mentioned that a large share of parents who bought the Elkie doll, complained about its low durability but their children were satisfied with the features of the doll and agreed that they would recommend a more durable version of the doll to their friends. Thus developing a Elkie Advanced doll, which has similar features but is made from superior quality materials, will definitely increase their profits over those of a rival company. The argument seems plausible at the first glance. However, a deeper analysis reveals that three major questions need to be answered in order to appropriately evaluate it.

To begin with, the writer has optimistically assumed that the intial survey and the the follow up survey were enough to garner appropriate statistics. However, before making this prediction the question that must be answered is whether a sufficient proportion of parents who bought the doll were surveyed. Also, how many of those participated in the follow up survey? It is possible that only a few parents of all those who bought the doll were surveyed. At the same time, there is a possibility that a small share of the ones who participated in the initial survey agreed to participate in the follow up survey. If these scenarios are indeed true, then the argument of the author is significantly weakened.

Secondly, though in the survey the parents have claimed that they will recommend the durable version of the Elkie doll to their friends, it does not imply that this will guarantee higher sales of the new version of the doll. The question that needs to be answered here is whether they will actually recommend this Elkie-Advanced Doll and how many of their friends will go ahead and buy the doll after taking into consideration this recommendation. It is possible that the survey had leading questions that prompted most of the parents into answering that they would recommend a durable version of the doll. Also, their friends might not take their recommendation seriously and thus, inspite of the new doll with higher quality being manufactured, the sales may not rise.

Finally, the last question that must be answered is that, what is the price of the advanced Elkie doll? Since the quality of materials used is higher, the prices of the doll must have also increased. It is likely that it is much more expensive than the older version of the doll or even the dolls sold by the Optima Doll Manufacturing Company. This, if true, can discourage a large number of parents from buying the new doll.

Therefore, the argument as it stands is based on a number of wishy washy observations that need not be true. Unless the author bolsters it with sufficient evidence and answers the above mentioned questions with sufficient evidence, his argument that the production of the Elkie Advanced Doll will most certainly increase their profits over the rival company, does not hold much water.