The following memorandum was sent to the President of Arbayo Manufacturing from the human resources director.

“In order to reduce the turnover expense to the company associated with recruiting, hiring, and training, Arbayo should adopt a program of screening prospective new employees with multiple-choice tests designed to assess intelligence, emotional aptitude, and overall interests. This technique has clearly benefited Wixmer Bank: five years ago, two hundred recently hired Wixmer employees volunteered to undergo such testing. Five years later, over 80% of those employees were still employed at Wixmer, whereas the company as a whole had a retention rate of only 50%.”

Critique the reasoning used in this argument. You are not being asked to discuss your point of view on the argument. You should identify and analyze the central elements of the argument, the underlying assumptions that are being made, and any supporting information that is given. Your critique can also discuss other information that would strengthen or weaken the argument or make it more logical.

In a memorandum from the human resources director concluded that to reduce the turnover expense on recruiting, hiring, and training, the Arbayo Company should adopt the Multiple-choice tests as a method assess intelligence, emotional aptitude, and overall interests. The assumption was based on the reduction of the Wixmer Bank. However, before the assertions are properly evaluated, the following three assumptions have to justify with proper evidence.

Firstly, the author assumes that if the multiple-choice test adopted the turnover expense decreased that issued on hiring, training or recruiting. Perhaps it may help one of those sectors, maybe did not work on others. Even if the MC method succeeded one time after that people sort out the technique and there left no specialty in that method and maybe the selection based on a vague basis as only one type of method applied on the selection of employees. If either assumption has merit, the original argument significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author assumes that Wixmer Bank and Arbayo Company have similar turnover expense issue and a similar structure for hiring or training people respectively. Perhaps both the Arbayo Company and Wixmer bank fundamentally different from each other. The employee numbers are different, maybe wixmer bank has fewer employees than the arbayo company. If the above scenarios are true, then the argument is unwarranted weakened.

Thirdly, the author mentioned that after five years 80% of employees still in the bank. There are possibilities that the assuming numbers are not scientifically analyzed. Even if it is true, it is possible that there are 2000 employees in that bank, but only 200 are counted, which 1% of the total employees are and all of them are the higher officials. Al last the bank has 50% retention rate and it is possible that next year that changed due to rapid resignation or maybe employees resigned from the company. However, if the above assumptions are true then the original argument did not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it is stands is significantly flawed due to unwarranted assumptions. However, if the director justified the aforementioned assumptions with compelling evidence which are properly evaluated in systematic research then it can be possible to evaluate the recommended conclusion about the use of the multiple-choice method.