The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine: "Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This argument throws lights on some inconsistencies in the stated assumptions.

Firstly, the data received from the unmanned probes and satellites has no validity and the arugument fails to mention about the validity of the data.Eventhough unmanned flights are escaping the risk of risking a person's life, it fails to provide any authntication of the data it sends. Whereas a presence of a person ensures the reliability of the data.

To throw more light into the flaw of the statement, unmanned satellites can't recover by iteself if there requires any manual intervention incase if something goes wrong.

With all that being said, it might be true that unmanned flight are less costlier than manned space flight. Here we are not risking any person's life instead invest right skill and time in making a fault tolerent space flight.