The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president mentions that the successful increase in online enrollment from nearby Omni University should be followed by Humana University as the solution to tackle the pronlems of declining enrollment and the growth of the total cost. However, the recommendation has been given based on unwarranted assumptions which require further examinations.

First of all, there are two issues that the Humana University would like to solve, which are dropping enrollment and increasing total cost of maintaining buildings. However, the success appeared in Omni University only potentially solve the problem of the maintaining cost of buildings since most of the courses are conducted online. Another critical issue remains unanswered is that whether the growth of online enrollment will take the price of the drop of the normal enrollment. Therefore, when we are not given the information that whether the total enrollment is growing or not, it is difficult to say that this solution is suitable for the Humana University to take.

Apart from this, another critical missing point is that Humana University is different from Omni University. Therefore, when the differences are not considered, it is problematic to say that the solution will be effective. For example, the target students may be different. It is poosible that the target students of Omni University are tech geeks who are already familiar with online teaching, while the more preferred sutudents in Humana University are philosophy types of people who apprciate face to face teaching. If this difference is ignored, and blindly adopt the online initiative of Omni University, what can be foreseen will be a further drop of the enrollment in Humana University instead of the original plan of enrollment growth.

Last, the success in Omni University only last for one year, so it is too early to say whether the success can sustain or not. What if the next year, the enrollment in Omni University declines, both in online and face to face teaching? Then will it still be a desirable solution for Humana University to cope with? What I would like to emphasize is that one year success is generally too short to validate a solution, not to mention the problem that Humana University would like to solve has already existed for around three years. Therefore, more important issues for Humana University to consider is to find out the root cause of the enrollment drop and tune their own solutions that can address the critical issues that they faced.

In summary, due to the lack of overall enrollment development in Omni University, and the neglect of the differeneces of these two universities, as well as the wrong assumption based on short-term success all make the statement questionable.