The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The president of Humana University in the memorandum concluded that the Humana University should follow the nearby Omni University and start online classes of their own, with an expectation to increase the enrollment, and diminish operating costs. The author based the conclusion on three unwarranted assumptions enlisted below, which if true, might hold water. However, as it stands now, the assumptions seem very bleak, and can not support the plausibility of the conclusion.

First of all, the author based the conclusion on a major assumption that 50 percent rise of enrollment in Omni University is a significant figure. Maybe, in terms of number, the quantity is very less. For instance, the rise of students could be from 2 to 3, which is also equivalent to percentage increment of 50 percent. So, unless the exact numbers of student in Omni University is mentioned, the assumption seems unwarranted and critically hampers the validity of the conclusion.

Moreover, the author assumes that the reduction in operating costs of Omni University last year was based on a sole factor of online class. This however, could be the collective outcome of various factors like scientific management, cautious expenditure, reduced faculty members, etc., which can not be determined unless the detail data of expenditure is analyzed. Also, the initial execution of online classes can incurr come cost on the University, which the author seems to neglect. So, this assumption also highly diminish the validity of the conclusion made by the author in memorandum.

Finally, the author seems to assume that the online classes will maintain the quality and will not affect overall learning process of students. What if the Humana University has more technical subjects in comparison to Omni University? In that case, it can create a big problem in terms of learning experience because the online method of learning might prove unsufficient for the students to grasp complete information of course materials. Thus, without the exact idea of types of courses and willingness of students, the assumption made by the author to draw the conclusion seems rather bleak, and falls short to support the validity.

To conclude, the author seems to have made a rather hasty and premature conclusion that the online classes might come good for Humana University too, alike Omni University. However, due to unsufficient pieces of evidence and enough credibility in the above mentioned assumptions, the conclusion can not be validated for its plausibility.