The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The above argument makes many unwarranted assumptions to reach its conclusion. If these assumption were to be false, the whole argument would fall flat on its face.

The argument equates the use of cell phones to the rise in the incidents of "sidewalk rage", which is suspect. There could be many reasons for this increase discounting the effect of cell phones. There can be an increase in gang related activities which could lead increase in sidewalk rage as these gangs lock horns with each other. If the argument could show us the exsistance of a direct relationship between the use of cell phones and the increase in sidewalk rage, the argument would have a stronger base.

The argument makes a glaring assumption that the cities of Centerville and Middletown are same. It could very well be the case that people in Middletown using the sidewalks are significantly less as compared to Centerville. This can impact the number of reported cases of sidewalk rage, and the overall effect of cell phone ban. If the arugumet sheds light on the similarities between the two cities and shows that these two cities operated the same, the arugument would be in much better shape.

The argument also assumes that the children are most vulnerable based on just the fact that they are short. It can very well be the case that children are the main culprits for the rise in sidewalk rage. If the argument could provide some evidence that indicates that children are disproportionately affected by sidewalk rage, the argument could be streangthend.

The argument like swish cheese is riddled with gaping holes of fallacies, and hence cannot be considered as a valid one.