The following is from a recent email by the Diord Corp. Human Resources Manager: "Tobor Technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick days. Tobor amended its employee insurance plan so that workers receive the same coverage for mental illness as they do for physical illness. In addition, the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allows workers to schedule confidential counseling appointments. After one year , the number of sick days used by employees declined by 10 percent . Diord Corp has had an increase in employee sick days over the past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counseling program. These measures will surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause an increase in productivity."

This was the review from the recent email by the Diord Corp. Human Resources Manager. As per his views he asserted that the is utmost need to introduce a insurance plan and a counselling program to avoid the increase number of employee absenteeism and thereby to increase the productivity. To support the argument he mentions and explores about the plan of action of Tobor Technologies. I found that his argument is cluster of faults and holes without any evidences.

Firstly, it assumes that Tobor Technologies methods are correct and can be certified for their usage in the similar issue of Diord Corp. This is so unrealistic. I mean how one can compare our problem with that of the others? It is true that the absenteeism of the employee is the main similarity, but can we consider that Diord Corp. employees are also suffering from mental illness? We can say that the absence of the worker is only due to the mental illness and some other illness. It may be possible that there is any occasion or the unavoidable reasons for taking the leave. Manager should take into account all sorts of possibilities and then should decide upon their measures to reduce.

Even further, It is mention in the email that Tobor technologies say that 15% of employees were suffering from the mental issue and after their introduction of the insurance and the counselling it was reduce. Thus the sick days taken by them was reduce by 10% in one year. Here it is not specified that from when? We cannot assume one year before or one year much earlier. Thus there is lack of statistical evidences.

Counselling with the onsite psychologist and creating a system that allows workers to schedule confidential counselling appointments has reduce the sick days. It is totally wrong assumption. How can the psychologist treat the patient online?

In the sum, I conclude that the manager should work differently and should not copy the measures followed by Tobor Technologies.