The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell."

Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

In the argument, the author concludes that the best way to improve Hopeswell’s economy and to gain more tax revenues is to build a golf course and resort hotel like what the town of Ocean View did. To support the argument, the author mentions that tourism in Ocean View has flourished and tax revenue in Ocean View has raised because of the establishment of the golf course and resort hotel. However, it is still replete with a myriad of assumptions which could not suffice to back the argument.

First, the author unfairly claims that the construction of golf course and resort hotel should be the major contributor to the rising tax revenue of Ocean View. Here, the author assumes that no other causes can equally account for the booming Ocean View’s tourism industry. However, chances are that Ocean View has successfully improved air quality by developing electric vehicles, implementing strict policies on carbon emission and putting carbon pricing into effect in the last two years, and thus attracted more tourists to visit the town and gained more tax revenue thanks to the consumption by those tourists. Also, it is likely that many new firms including firms working on artificial intelligence and algorithm being established in Ocean View in the past two years, and gained a large quantity of business income and helped the tax income increase in Ocean View. Therefore, the author needs additional evidence to address the question as to whether other changes can have an impact on the increasing tax revenue of Ocean View. Otherwise, it is not convincing enough to conclude that the establishment of golf course and resort hotel is the main reason of the flourishing economy of Ocean View.

The author goes further by suggesting that Ocean View’s overall economy can be prospered by constructing golf course and resort hotel. However, the unstated assumption is that the prosperous tourism can improve the total output in Ocean View. But not only tourism but also other industries including secondary industry and primary industry like farming and fishing consist of the economy of a town. It is possible that in order to build the golf course, many other companies like lucrative chemical plant have to shutdown and fertile farmland cannot be utilized to grow crops, and thus the overall domestic output of the town may drop significantly. The increasing tax revenue may come from higher consumption tax and income tax in the town. In conclusion, to back the assumption, the author should provide more information about whether the overall economy can be improved or not after building the golf course and resort hotel.

Granted that building golf course and resort hotel in Ocean View did prosper the town’s economy, the author cannot propose that the town of Hopewell could refer to the establishment of golf course and resort hotel in Ocean View to improve the economy and increase tax revenue. The author does not consider that great differences may exist between those two towns and such differences would weaken the analogy of the two. For example, Hopewell may be an industrial town full of machinery factories and coal mines with poor air quality, and thus can hardly attract tourists to visit. Therefore, despite golf court and resort hotels are being built, few people want to travel to Hopewell and the tax revenue cannot be increased. Furthermore, unlike Ocean View where many natural landscapes like beautiful ocean can be viewed by travelers, Hopewell may be a town with poor natural attractions and has difficulty in attracting travelers. Constructing golf court and resort hotel, therefore, can only waste money but will not create service income. All in all, the author has to provide more information to address the possible differences between the two towns. Otherwise, the author cannot simply propose that Hopewell should also build golf court and resort hotel to prosper the economy.

In a nutshell, the argument is unwarranted because the article relies on several unstated assumptions. Therefore, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more logically acceptable.