The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the recommendation from the Monarch Books board of Directors, the author states that opening a cafe will allow Monarch to attract more customers and compete better with Regals Books. This argument fails to mention several key factors of which the conclusion can be evaluated. However, careful scrutiny of this argument reveals that it contains several unwarranted assumption which will made the this argument highly suspect. In other to evaluate this recommendations, the following questions need to be answered.

Firstly, what are the evidence that Monarch has before concluding that opening Cafe will attract more customers?.Monarch books just make a conclusion that cafe will attract more customers without giving any evidence to support it. It uses Regal Books who recently open its own cafe to compare itself. It is possible that Regal is not having much customer base and after it has successful carry out it own research, it find out that people has more interest in cafe than in buying of books. Monarch is already known for his wide selection of books on all subject and this could have have been the major reason why it is having much customers. It would have been more convincing if Monarch books conduct a survey to know if customers are really having interest in cafe before discontinuing the children's book section .

Secondly, does the customers of Monarch Books or resident where Monarch book is located are computer literate? Customers buying books does not mean they know how to operate computers. Cafe is only use when one need to use the interest to browse or search for information and it possible that customers of Regal are computer literate . Since Monarch has been in the business for more than twenty years, how many times has customers requested for cafe?. It is possible that customers dont know how to operate the internet and maybe only small percentage can operate it. Monarch books should conduct some survey, and provide the percentage of people who prefer to use the internet to those who dont use it before opening its cafe.

Thirdly, will customer base still increase if Monarch discontinue its Children books section? Although the recent national census indicated in the argument state that there was a decline in the percentage of population under age 10 but not percentage of customers who buy books for under 10 student. this is entirely different survey. Another question to ask is that the children section of Monarch books limited only to books for children under age ten?. Since, Monarch has been known for wide selection of book either under age 10 or above, discontinuing the children section is not an appropriate decision. Is it possible that customers are coming to buy from Monarch because of different selection of books they can get in Monarch books. Discontinuing the children books section will make customers buy from other bookstores.

In conclusion, this argument, has it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Monarch book need to provide answers to the questions above and provide more evidence( perhaps in form of systematic research study) so has to recommend its opening and the viability of the Cafe . However, the Children Book section should not be discontinued.