The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

Prompt:

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

it remains a question in commercial society that the anxiety of recommenders may lead them to business failiures. While the recommendation point out that Monarh books should replace the children's corner with a coffee shop, the conclusion came so brusquly that it is hard to follow.

The recommender first pointed out that the new-coming competitor did well in combining bookstores with coffee shops. But there isn't any connection between that issue and the construction of Monarch books. The commercial society calls on diversity rather than similarity. Since the newcomer is a virtuoso in bookstore-coffeebar combination, copying the opponent's strategy will only make a business failure.

On the other hand, the reason why it is the children's corner that should be overtaken is also nonsense. even though the national census showed a decline in kids' proportion, it may hardly be the case in Collegeville, where the bookstore stands. even if the kids' proportion in the district did decline, it may not link to the decline in book selling. Along with the development in education grows the need of reading. The children's need of knowledge may countervail the negative effect of the declining kid proportion.

Therefore, the conclusion that lays beyond these two points may crumble. if the bookstore followed the idea, it may lead to a cataclysmal effect in book sellings. We may assume that kids and their parents come concurrently. if there are no kids coming, there may also be less adults. it may be a total failure if the bookstore replace the children's corner with a coffee shop.