The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly asserts that monarch books are popular among people because of its different subjects and opening café in book store will provide an opportunity for them to attract more customers. However, the premises upon which he put his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

First, the author contends that if monarch books open café in their store, they can appeal more customers. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, a question that might arise is whether monarch books are able to sell more and more books after opening café in its store. One point that should be considered is that maybe people just go to the store for drinking a cup of café and in this case, perhaps customers forget that they are in book store. We can come to this conclusion that opening café could be sheer waste of money. It's also important to say that maybe people do not prefer to drink café in book store because every human being has different taste and we do not know for sure that they are interested in café or not.

The author also attributes that monarch books should diminish books related to the children because of the decline in children population under age ten. Although it might seem tenable at face, it has some detects since you can always ask this question if eliminating children's books section is beneficial for book store. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that there is not any information or statistics to show that in what extent children's population has decreased. Indeed, if we assume that population is declining, maybe the major customers are still children and child's books could be profitable and bring many advantages for the store. Alongside that, maybe children population increase after a period of time. In fact, if they delete this section, they will lose their popularity and profit by this part and maybe could not back to the previous stage.

Finally, as set forth by the author opening a café can put monarch books in a competition with regal books and are able to appeal more customers. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenge owing to an unsettled question if these two book stores sell the same subjects or their book related to different realm. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe regal books are active in a specific part and sell majorities of books with variety of subjects in that realm and has its own costumers. In this case, opening a café not only can attract people but also can be profitable for book store. Moreover, if monarch books open a café in its store, there is no guarantee that become successful such as regal books.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of question, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.