The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author comes to the conclusion that opening a café in Monarch Books will increase costumer base. This conclusion is based on the evidence and assumptions made by the author However there is not sufficient evidence to support the assumptions made. More questions need to be answered by the author before their recommendation can be expected to give them predicted results.

To begin the author makes the assumption that getting rid of the children’s section of Monarch books will have no effect on the business. They base this assumption on the fact that there has been a decrease in the population under the age of ten. To better prove that removing this section of the book store will have limited effects the author should provide information on how much revenue the children’s section makes. This answer could strength the recommendation by showing that the section brings in little business.

Moreover, the author makes the assumption that the café will help Monarch Books to compete better with their competition Regal Books. They base this on the fact that Regal Books also has a café in their book store. Since both books’ stores have equal accommodations this should in theory even the playing field. To prove this is a correct statement the author should provide more information of the differences between the two bookstores. If both book stores often the same selection, are in comparable locations and have similar settings than the only difference would be the lack of a café in Monarch. This would reinforce the idea that a café is needed at Monarch books to even the playing field.

In addition to this the author makes the assumption that a café will benefit the store. This is based on no evidence but the statement, “clearly this will attract more customers”. This is not strong enough evidence to support this statement. If the author could provide statistics on profit increases made by other book stores that add cafes this could help the argument. They should also add information on how Regal books business is doing after the addition of the café. The book store could be seeing an increase in costumers which would add to the argument.

In conclusion the argument made by the author that Monarch should add a café to their bookstore to increase costumers. This claim is based on insufficient evidence and assumptions. To prove that their recommendation will have the predicted result the author should be answering the questions and providing the information needed to support their assumptions. Then they will be able to show that removing the children’s section will have no consequences, the café will help the business compete, and the café benefit the book store.