The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author states that a reduction in mopeds rental will reduce the amount of accidents between mopeds and pedestrians. This recommendation is based on evidence and assumptions the author states but they are not sufficient enough to support the claim.

The first assumption made by the author is that a reduce in mopeds during the summer months will decrease the overall amount of accidents. This assumption is based on the evidence that the population of the island raises to 100,000 during the summer. The author should answer the question of what the normal population of the island when it is not summer. By showing that there is a large increase during the summer the author would be better able to support the assumption that a decrease in rentals will decrease accidents. Also the author should provide information on how many accidents occur during the summer months compared to the other months of the year. If there is a dramatic increase in accidents during the summer this would better support their argument.

Moreover, another assumption the author makes is that limiting the number of rentals will create a 50% annual reduction in moped accidents. This is based on the evidence provided by another town, Seaville, that instated the same law and got a 50% annual reduction in accidents. The author should answer questions about how Seaville and Balmer islands are similar to better support that the law will get the same result in Balmer as it did in Seaville. This would help to prove that the predicted result of the recommendation will be accurate

In addition, the author makes the assumption that limiting the number of rentals will decrease the amount of accidents. To prove that this is accurate the author needs to answer the question of whether most mopeds on the island are rented or owned. Citizens who own mopeds may also be responsible for accidents. If the author can prove that most accidents happen with rented mopeds this would strengthen their reasoning behind limiting rentals.

In conclusion, the author makes the argument that a reduction in moped rentals from 50 a day to 25 a day will decrease moped accidents by 50%. To better support his argument the author needs to answer the questions above and provide the evidence needed to structure this claim.