Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue presented here is on the government funding of art. some people believe the funding is needed to make sure that art is always able to be created. In opposition some hold the belief that government funding takes away the integrity of the arts. I hold the belief that government funding is needed to continue the practice of the arts.

To begin, art programs across the country have faced cuts as school budgets are no longer able to support them. many public and private institutions of education no longer have music and art classes available for students. government funding allows these programs to continue to be offered to the youth of our society. If these programs were not available many young aspiring artists would not have the opportunity to practice and learn. The integrity of the arts becomes less of a concern when faced with the reality of there being no arts at all.

Moreover, art is an integral part of the landscape of our towns and cities. art attracts tourists and brings beauty to our cities. murals and sculptures located in our metropolitan areas define the cities themselves. For example, the statue of liberty might be one of the most recognizable symbols of America. this statue brings in money and tourists of the city of New York. murals located even in smaller towns attracts citizens to it to take pictures there. government funding to produce this art could help to bring money, tourism, and beauty into an area,

In addition to this, many artists do not make money for their work during their lifetimes. Countless famous artists were not discovered until long after they had died. For example, Van Gogh received little money for his paintings and lived an incredibly humble life. In modern times he is considered one of the greatest artists who ever lived. there is no telling what modern artists might one day be considered the greatest artists of our generation. government funding of small artist will help them to create the art we as a society may one day value more than anything.

it could be argued that government funding could influence the art created and therefore does more harm than good. this argument fails to recognize that many artists throughout the centuries have had patrons and supporters who funded and influenced their work. many of the art work we idolize today was only created because of the money of a wealthy benefactor. Perhaps some influence by donors is a natural part of art.

In conclusion, government funding of art can help it to grow and flourish in our society. In keeps school programs alive, it helps create art in cities and supports small artists. The damage to integrity the opposition fear is nothing compared to the possible loss of art without the funding.