Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The way one perceives art depends on person to person, and it is highly subjective. In today’s time, with the advent of the digital revolution, there is more digital content than ever, and artists can promote their art using various social media platforms and earn money through it. So there is no necessary need for the government to fund art, for it being available to masses. However, the government funds can be more wisely used for promoting art, say, music, painting, writing, acting, etc., for young people to pursue such a profession by giving them scholarship or stipend and making more art institutions, museums, etc. So there is no particular position of whether government funding is necessary for arts to flourish and available to all people, or the funding threatens the integrity of the arts. However, I believe that if funding is utilized in an effective way, it will definitely help and motivate the artists to make and sell their arts.

The most important aspect of art is its appeal to the audience. The appeal depends on the quality of the art to a large extent, and making a good quality art takes time. And if government funds such arts, they might be interested in the financial aspect of the art, and there may be deadlines which ultimately pressure the artist to make the art quicker and thus compromising the quality. And in that way, the government funding threatens the integrity of the art. But if government funds are utilized in promoting the existing classical arts to young generations, it will help them know their culture well and connects to their roots.

So, in conclusion, the government funds should be utilized in an effective sense, and there should be no strings attached that may force the artists to compromise the quality of the art.