Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The primary role of education is to fulfill the natural curiosity of mind, engender the power of imagination, and make complete individuals. The prompt suggests that the competition for getting high grades somehow diminishes the quality of learning at all levels of education. I mostly agree with the prompt and will elucidate my position with three reasons.

Firstly, when one competes for something immaterial as grades, his or her entire focus is on how to get them, and at this very point, the primal purpose of education, which is learning takes the back seat, as one gets the satisfaction by good grades than learning something new. However, the greatest minds of the world never gave importance to these artificial sources like grades, publications, etc. their primary purpose was to learn, and they get satisfaction by filling their appetite for learning. For example, Sir Albert Einstein­ – the synonyms of genius – was considered a dull student in his school and college. However, his outstanding genius was realized later by the world when he changed our understanding of the universe. Thus, in this case, doing well in the academic setup, by getting good grades, is not necessary to do scientific inventions. And the sole purpose of education is to fulfill one desire of learning than waste one’s time in competitions.

Secondly, elaborating on the last sentence of the last paragraph, if someone has a particular interest, then he or she will learn it passionately, and that automatically improves the quality of learning. But if we materialize someone’s interest in grades, the quality suffers as the person in pursuit of getting high grades will only focus on those topics or concepts that have the highest chances to come in exams, and, in doing so, the quality will suffer drastically. For example, John Nash – the noble prize winner in economics – didn’t take part in the competition of publishing ordinary papers during his Ph.D., in his pursuit of developing an original idea. To him, the quality was more important than quantity; this led him to develop the completely original idea which he published successfully, which won him the noble prize. If, however, he also chooses the easy path of mundane work that his peers used to do, then he might never win the Nobel prize. So quality is of paramount importance in academia or in general. By competition, the focus on quality somehow fogged by the sheer pseudo satisfaction one gets by other unnecessary means like getting good grades.

However, for some people, the primary purpose of education is to get a job, and in today’s competition-oriented world, grades are very convenient – not accurate ­­– yardstick to describe one’s skill, whether for a job or higher education. Thus, it makes it imperative for the student to get good grades to make good careers, which added a lot of pressure on them; this indeed makes it more critical for the authority to re-evaluate how much importance should be given to grades as that creates a huge pressure among individuals, some do not take that pressure and commit suicide. For example, the education system in India is highly competitive, and India is at the top position in student suicide cases. Thus, there is a dire need to shift the importance of grades, and rather invent new effective methods of evaluation that focuses more on quality.

In conclusion, one may argue that a competitive environment improves individuals as it made them work harder and reach their full potential. But, if someone is really interested in learning, that itself is sufficient to fuel him or her to work hard and get better at it. Thus one should be very clear on what really gives them happiness: good grades or learning without restrictions.