Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Modern education could be mainly classified into three groups. There is the essential education which has elementary school education and middle school education, the advanced education which contains high school education and university education and for-scholar education which is graduated school education. All three categories of education estimate students by giving different points based on their achievement and encourage students to work harder by comparing with one another. Although there would be some side effects of this method, however I generally agree that it doesn’t harm the quality of learning.

The proponents of the statement contend that the competition for high grades contaminate the purpose of learning from self-esteem to getting the better point and make student be myopic. The purpose would become the purpose for the purpose. This opinion might be true when the paper that determines the grade is mainly based on memorizing as much information as a student can or solving simple but many questions in short time. For example, when the Korean students tried to go to university, they should take Korean SAT which 90% of the questions is one-from-five type on a limited time. Because the questions are easy, about 0.5% of students who took the test gets a perfect score. Just by missing a single question by mistake, the student could not go to where he wanted and take a test next year.

However, the problem that the proponents of the statement is saying is on very circumscribed occasions. If the quality of the estimation is not approved enough, it is certain that the result of the estimation won’t bring the arose from the students’ heart about the purpose of the education. When the quality of the education could be accepted by the third perspective, being competitive for high grades would bring positive feedback, giving students a reason why they should work harder. One of the exemplars that I suggest for better way of estimation is group presentation. When I was at high school, one of the biology classes that I attend used student-made presentation as the teaching product. Each time when the teacher got a lecture from the group of students, he remarked about how the group was good and bad. From his comments, other students understand biology more deeply, sometimes about things that the textbook never presents. When I started making my presentation, I searched about the topic that I would discuss as profound as possible for higher grade. As I searched and tried my best to explain to other students, I could understand it better than when I just reach the text. Though my ostensible purpose was higher grade, I made my personal academic accomplishment.

I think the statement is right only on limited conditions. If the way how the students get points is good enough, competition will guarantee the quality of education.