Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The education process depends on too many factors that play an important role in determining the quality and the ease of it. One of these important factors are the environment in which students deal with each other and the way they are galvanized to do their tasks. In an unhealthy environment, a teacher encourages his students to work harder aiming to beat their colleagues to the awards given at the end of the semester or year. This how, a feeling of envy will be enticed in the characters of the students and therefore, they will not improve as well as they should. However, a healthy environment for education is not vacant of the competition between students, that is, they work to achieve high grades keeping in mind that the high grades they achieve is just an indicator of how much effort they have put during the semester, without considering beating their colleagues to the highest grades as a primary goal.

In such a healthy environment, good students are most galvanized and pushed towards putting more effort to grasp as much knowledge as they can. The best students always try to prove themselves and refuse to give up when having difficulties understanding some concepts. In a non-competitive environment, good students are more likely to lose vigor towards learning especially if they are learning something they are not very familiar with, this happens as they will be affected by their companions who are not so eager to learn in a non-competitive environment. On the other hand, they will try to excel in any topic they study even if it does not seem very easy to them at the first glances, in order to keep the same level with their companions who are more likely to be excited to put efforts to learn in a competitive environment.

Furthermore, we can use the example of great companies and institution as an evidence that competition is very healthy characteristic of education or work. That is, we see that the biggest companies always try to hire the best qualified employees, in order to improve the competition between employees and therefore, every employee will do his best to keep the same level of excellence of his colleagues.

Finally, when we imagine a healthy educational place, one of the first things that comes to our minds is the high-level material being taught to the students. This would be difficult to happen when the teacher is not encouraged by the level of students to get the level of the material higher. this is most likely to happen where the students are competing at a high level, so that they will be asking more questions to understand the concepts and the origins of every topic.

In a conclusion, a reasonable person would think that given that the envy feeling when growing between students exacerbates the learning process and make it difficult for the students to burgeon and so, it is better to get rid of any thing that would stimulate that feeling, including competition between students. However, considering the positivities a competitive environment give to the students such as the points mentioned above, we would think that this is better to be kept but in a healthy way.