Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The memorandum from the business manager claims that to attract more viewers and to avoid decreasing advertising revenues, the program should restore the time of weather and local news because Hof the proportion of complaint related the subject and canceled advertising contracts. The logic seems right ostensibly, there are some misconstrues and misunderstanding when we examine it profoundly.

There is no way to find out from the memorandum that the complaints about the coverage of weather and local news had positive or negative attitude toward the change last year. If the complaints were about how culpable the broadcast center is about not showing enough information about the weather and the local news, the program should respond the clients' need. However, if the complaints were mostly about the applauses for the decision, the program made the good decision.

Even though the camplaints are mostly negative, if the number of people who watches the show have increased compare to the last year, increasing time to national news and less time to weather and local news would a fine thing done. We have to acknowledge that not every costomers leave mails full of complaints. Most of the people just decide one of two options: watch it or not. The statistics were told that only 5% of the attendents leave comments and feedback to the TV program. To decide whether the show should maintain the composition, it would be wiser to check whether the number of audience of the show have increased or not.

Also there are no relation between the decreasing of advertising contracts and the devotion. The business manager claims that the two events are cause and result because one occured after the another one occured. However, there could be many different reasons why the local businesses canceled their advertising contracts. The manager's claim would be pleasible if the reason of the cancel is less time to local news but it may be the decreased budget of the company so that it couldn't afford the cost of the advertisement.

In conclusion, the business manager should reconsider the suggestion because of the opaque validity of the complaints and mere relation of the canceled advertisement.