Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The earth is for all creatures, and humans should not presume that they own the planet, and they can exploit the other creatures. The prompt suggests that society should protect those endangered species that are at the risk of extinction due to the consequences of human activities. I mostly disagree with the prompt and will elucidate my position with three reasons.

Firstly, human activities like hunting, deforestation, polluting water bodies, climate change, etc., are the main causes for many vulnerable species (those species which are at the risk of extinction) today. Humans are directly or indirectly associated with the vulnerability of such species. It is very hard to determine which species are directly affected by human activities and which species are not. Since the biggest benefiters of this planet are humans, they have this duty to preserve all the creatures living in it and should make every possible effort to save them. For example, tigers in India decline substantially in the 2000s, and their decline is due to less fertility among the tigers of that region. Tiger is the national animal of India, and the government of India took every possible action to save them. They made policies that eventually result in saving the tiger, and today, India has the highest population of tigers in the world. We need our future generation to see such magnificent animals; otherwise, it would be a shame if they learn about these creatures from books.

Secondly, some species risk of extinction may be due to some avoidable factors like scarcity of food, climate, habitat issue, etc., and they can be easily preserved by providing them their natural habitat. This can be easily done by shifting them to the national wildlife forest or sanctuaries. So, if such actions can help in preserving those species, there should be no discussions on whether their extinctions are due to humans or not. This is like the same as if someone is dying in front of you and instead of helping you are thinking whether he is dying because of me or not.

Thirdly, each species is very important for the ecosystem of the world as they are positioned at someplace in the food chain. And that helps to sustain the ecosystem independently. So, if one species get extinct, which will affect other species also, and ultimately affect the equilibrium of the entire ecosystem. For example, if suppose the population of antelope get extinct, which is the primary source of food for tigers, then that will directly influence the population of tigers, as many may die because of the scarcity of food. Thus, it is our responsibility to preserve each species so that the balance of nature will be maintained.

In conclusion, some may argue that if some species are at risk of extinction, then probably they are not able to adapt well with the changing environment, and humans should not interfere as that is not because of human activities. But the biggest cause of the change of nature is humans themselves, so they may not be directly related to the extinction of a particular species, but the indirect relation is quite evident. Thus, humans should treat every creature as equal, and if someone is at the danger of getting extinct, humans should do every possible action to save them.