Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Nature when left untouched, balances on its own and doesnot need external help to be in a state of equilibruim. In an ecosystem, different flora and fauna do go extinct but this process is a slow process and takes atleast thousand of years. The author states that we should only try to save those species who are going to be extinct because of human actions. I strongly disagree with this fact because of 3 reasons.

Almost all extinctions happening in recent times are a consequence of human activities. From the time humans started to build civilizations they have changed a lot of their surrounding enivornments. Farmers cleared large parcels of land for agriculture, mining for metals became a neccesity in process poisoning rivers, lakes and the soil. In recent times, when vulture population started to decline, no one had the idea why it was happening. It did not seem to be an effect of direct human action but after a decade of research it all became clear-- diclofenac , a painkiller given to farm animals was behind all this. Vultures were eating the carcasses of animals which had a huge quantity of diclofenac in them which led to their demise. Nearly all extinctions happening in after growth of human civilization is either a direct or an indirect effect of human activity.

If we donot make an effort to save all species (even those with no apparent human causation for their dwindling numbers) it would lead to a dominos effect on others. Ever organism on this planet is linked with each other and is co-dependent. Take for instance, in a forest the jaguar(predator) population is decreasing even without any apparent human reason behind this, it will lead to a temporary spike in deer(prey) population which will lead to overgrazing. The increased deer population will need more resources than the forest can provide sustainabily. After some time of this happening it would lead to the forest getting destroyed and the ecosytem of that particular area collapsing. By deciding not to save a species of animals whos decreasing numbers were not our fault we fail to appreciate their importance in the overall ecosytem.

Letting nature be on its own and not interfere with it seems like a good idea unless you take into account human beings historical and current impact on the planet. It is not plausible to see extinction of indivual species in isolation and not take responsibilty when we donot have a direct action leading to their extinction. As everyone, be it a plant , animal or a human in our planet are interlinked.