While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the text argues that all teachers in our high school should assign homework no more than twice a week. This is based on a study conducted by the Department of Education in the state of Attra regarding usefullness of daily homework. The argument of the writer may hold water if, he is able to answer, the following 3 questions based on his assumptions.

Firstly, Is the study conducted scientifically and its methodology rests on sound reason? It may be the case that the teachers who were surveyed made up only a small sample size and the sample was not represntative the whole cohort of teachers. For instance, if only 10 teachers were surveyed from every school, it wouldn’t be a large enough sample size to draw a sound conclusion from. As the study did not take include all teachers of all subjects, it is not a good indicator for the overall performance. The author only talks about data bracket of 3-5 times per week, he does not talk about homework equal to or less than 1 time a week nor more than 5 times a week. This is a flawed way of using selective data for intepretation. He also only talks about 2 districts in the whole state. If any of the assumptions is true, then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, How compartive are the students studying in various schools of the state? There are other factors that can impact students performance in school. It can the case that a school has students from affluent families with a lot more resources at their disposal as compared to schools with students from not so affluent or poor homes with a lot responsibilty at their own homes. If above is true, than the argument is significantly weakened.

Lastly, Are tests and circulum on which students are given grades comparable or equal in all aspects? Maybe, a school with lower grade was testing its students on a more rigourous circulum with more difficult tests leading to lower grades. In some school there could be more focus on extra circulaurs and sports which may be leading to lower scores in science and maths. If any of the scenarios is true, then the argument is severly hampered.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is flawed because of its reliance on a number of unwarranted assumpotions.The assumption can be tested for its validity if the writer is able to provide answers for the 3 questions asked with evidence(perhaps in form of a systematic study).