Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The teacher’s main aim should be to make her child more able, nuture him and help him be ready for his life ahead. The prompt recommends linking teachers’ salary to their students’ acadamic performance. Most probably the author’s rational behind this prompt would have been that linking salaries to students’ academic performance would incentivize teachers. The author seems to ignore various consequences of this policy. I disagree with the prompt because of the following reasons.

This would lead to teachers, teaching for the sole purpose of exams and teaching for imparting knowledge would take a backseat. For instance, in classrooms, instead of making students understand concepts and expand their knowldege -- teachers would be more interested in making them study for tests. This would lead to stifling of the students’ creativity and cripple his imagination. This would be anti to our concept of learning.

Students would not be encouraged to achieve their full potential and academically weak students would not be properly supported. As an example, if the maximum finacial incentive is provided at B grade, so the teachers would not put in a lot of effort to help students who have the potential to achieve better grades, get them. Furthermore, if there is no large finacial incentive at D grade, teachers would put in lot of efforts to help students with E grade get better. This would be against the policy of “no child left behind” and be determintal to our goal making our society literate and educated.

Linking salaries to academic performance would lead to teachers discouraging students from spending time on sports and extracircullar activities which would not lead to an overall development of the student . It would also not help us cultivate values such as cooperation, leadership, we learn from these activities.

The issue of how to improve academic performance of students is a complex issue and their is no easy answer to this but linking teachers salaries to students academic performance is not the way forward.