To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leaders’ purpose is to lead his people in a fruitful direction. A lot of people depend on him to take them on a right path. The prompts states that to be an effective leader public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards. I agree with the statement because the following reasons.

A leader, leads by example and if he doesn’t maintain the highest ethical and moral standards, people would lose a role model, whom they wish to emulate. The leader would also lose the respect of the people and in a democratic society, if people don’t respect you, then it very difficult to make them follow you. For instance, if the president of USA calls for people to decrease their carbon emission to stop global warming and still allows oil companies who contributed to his presidential campaign to drill new high emission oil wells then the citizens will not be very keen to give up their comforts such as their SUVs to reduce their country’s emissions. An effective leader cannot have double standard specially when comes to ethical and moral standards.

An elected official uses public funds and infrastructure to his do his work. If, the public gets to know about even a single instance where ethics or morals were violated, the people would most likely lose their confidence in him and their faith in the government . For example, a public official is found to be giving public safety clearance to food products by taking taking bribes then the people’s confidence in governmental oversight of food industry will detroiate.

Eventhough, the elected officials should maintain highest ethical and moral standards, they are a part of population of the country and can have flaws and misgivings just like any one else but because they have taken the responsibilty to lead the people, they should maintain the highest ethics and morals.

Concluding, a public official can only be leader when he maintains the highest ethical and moral standards. This staments holds water in each and every instance.