To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

is it must for a leader to have highest ethical and moral standards in order to be effective? Well, the speaker believes so. While it may be sometimes, but to be a 'effective leader" I don't see extreme necessity of these conditions. because sometimes for being effective leader situation may demand these qualities to be sacrificed. Examples below will illustrate my point

For instance, consider a typical election campaign scenario in India. All the candidates are required to fill a nomination form in which they are supposed to disclose their assets, criminal cases against them etc. Assume that the leader is quite popular and is also known for doing good works for the society and he enjoys support of people of the locality. it is possible that there are certain cases against him, disclosure of which can turn him into a controversial figure and his popularity drops drastically which in turn damages his contention for the legislative assembly.

now let's consider the political scenario of china whereby a authoritative government is in power. there are certain things the leaders of china manage to hide from public because of dominance on media. people aren't allowed to use youtube, facebook etc. but the country constantly is progressing effectively in terms of economy and defence. However, the leaders in china maintain an image of a strong 'effective" government.

now lets focus on issuses regarding a country's defence .if the politicians in power were to disclose certain military weapons its developing for defending its territories will it do any good? Or say some nations are jointly planning to tackle terrorism. if they disclose such information out in public, then what's the use of those plans.