A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author predicts that inhabitants of Mentia will suffer from less headches after salicylates are used as food additives. His prediction is based on a 20 year long study regarding therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. However, before this prediction can be properly evaluated 3 questions must be answered.

Firstly , Will the amount of salicylates that will be consumed by the residents of Mentia be equal to minium theurapatic dose required? The theuraptic dose of a given compound is usually much higher than the amount that is added as food additive. It may be the case that alot of companies may use other compounds instead of salicyates as flavor additives in their food products. It may also not be possible to add salicylates as food additives to a lot of products beacuse of their reaction with other compounds in the product such as iodine in iodine fortified salts supplied to areas with an high prevalance of goitre( iodine deficency is major cause for goitre) and Mentia may be an area requiring iodine fortified salts .It may be the case that the taste of salicylates be not being suitable for a given product . If any of the arguments is true , it seriously weakens the prediction.

Secondly , Do the people of Mentia eat a lot fresh food instead of processed food with additives? It is very likely Mentia is a rural area where people take a diet consting of mostly fresh food. It is also plausible that the only a small miniority of the whole population eat the processed food in which the food companies put salcicylates. If any of the above argument is proven to be true than the prediction may not hold water.

Lastly , Is the mentioned study scientifically done and is realible? It is possible that the sample taken in the study note be enough and not representative of the whole population. It may be possible that there are other confounding factors such as lifestyle changes , other chemical compounds , new advanvced screen on electronic devices( which do not put strain on the eyes hence resulting in less headaches ) which may not be taken into account and would have affected the results of the study. It may possible that study participants were not able or were not willing to follow the instructions given to them for such a large time peroid and were using other medications or measures such as resting ( according to research , resting usually helps in relieving headaches). If any of the arguments proved to be true , it seriouslly affects the base on which the assumptions stands.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in a form of systematic study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the prediction of further decrease in headaches in the residents of Mentai.