The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to editor, a Central Plaza owner predicts that buisness in Central Plaza will increase if skateboarding is banned in the plaza. He makes this prediction on the basis that a decrease in buisness is due to increase in skateboarding in Central Plaza. The prediction can only be fully evaulated if the store owner is able to provide answers to the following 3 questions.

Firstly, What are the factors that dictate the volume of shoppers in Central Park? There are usually multiple factors which govern shoppong volume for a place. It may be the case that because of increase in shopping done online, physical stores may be experiencing a decrease in their footfall. It can also be the case the new shopping complexes have opened nearby and were diverting traffic from Central Plaza. Maybe, a few of the shops in Central Plaza have closed down and the decline in traffic is the shoppers that shopped in those shops. Increase in skateboarders should not be the reason for decline in shoppers instead the skateboarders could also be shopping at Central Plaza. If any of the reasons are true than assumptions are greatly weakened.

Secondly, What are the reasons for the rise in vandalism and littering? The rise is in vandalism maybe because of rising crime in the area not specifically in Central Plaza. The rise in littering maybe due to the budget cuts in the sanitation department of the city. The skateboarders maybe even be using the abondened part of Central Plaza and discouraging crimes in those parts. If either of the above statement are true, than the grounds of the prediction are filmsy at best.

Lastly, How scientific was the data collection regarding buisness,skateboarders, vandalism and loitering. It may be the case that only buisness for the shopkeeper writing the letter may have seen an decrease and the buisness for others would not have been affected. It may also be that no change or not a very huge difference was seen in the other activities described in the letter, the increase in them was only been observed by the particular shopkeeper and not by the shopkeepers, departments of the city or the police department. If either of these scenarios has merit, then prediction based on the original presumption is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the prediction that banning skateboarding in Central Plaza will increase business to its previous high levels doesnot hold water because it is based on faulty assumptions. If the author of the letter can answer the 3 questions and provide evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic study), than the validity of the prediction can be evaulated .