The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries makes a recommendation that preventing employees from accessing internet from their workstations will ultimately lead to increase in overall profit for the company. However, while the conclusion drawn by the vice president may hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions, if not substatiated, dramaically weaken the persusivness of the argument. Thus, the 3 questions must be addressed.

Firstly, How do the employees use the internet connection on their workstations? Nowadays, it is a difficult task to work without the aid of internet. The employees maybe using the connection to world wide web for researching for their work, troubleshooting their issues, communcating with their colleagues in and out of their workplace. Banning internet access will most likely result in detoratiation in quality of work and an increase in time consumed to complete the work. If any of the above statements are true, it weakens the conclusion.

Secondly, How much of the time spent on the internet is spent on non -work related activities? 10 minutes spent in every 2 hours or so is not likely to be determinal to work , by contrast, research show that a break after every 90 mins is important to prevent burnout and increase efficency. It would also help reduce mental stress and help his refresh his mind. If any of the above statements proves to be substainial, then the conclusion’s validity is greatly reduced.

Finally, How did the vice president reach to this conclusion? He does not cite data from a systemic research study or for that matter, any data from any source. This conclusion appears to be based on vice president’s own observations and could be biased from own views and belief. If any of the above statements are true, then the conclusion appears to be flimsy at best.

The recommendation made by the vice prersident that probhiting internet access from work computers will lead to increase in overall profit for the company is false. It is based on several unproved assumptions, which severly weaken the the recommendation. The author must present reasons and evidence(perhaps in form of systemic study) for 3 questions so that validity of the recommendation can be proven.