The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the context, the author concludes that the company should install internet monitoring software to every computer of the office to detect whether employees are using internet or not. According to his thought, this will haste good work etiquete & augment the companie's overall profit. However, careful scrutiny view reveals that there are copius amount of loopholes laying among the thought of the author which he provided to justify his conclusion. Therefore, the argument can be considered unpersuasive & need more tranchant analysis.

First of all, the author merely decided to monitor employees computers without thinking the fact this will be stymie for the workers privacy. It might be happened that many workers will not wlecome it with much alacrity rather take it like a hobble of thier privacy. Beside this, it might be caused that the workers are using internet for companie's use. For example, a new fresher worker do not know some term which the company is using, so he can google it for finding out the meaning. This is not a use for recreational activity rather it is a using for the companie's benifit.

Additionally. the author is suggesitng to punish the workers for using internet & want to reduce recreational activity. Though this is a decision for companie's profit, this can affect counterwise. For instance, the quality of work can be degraded if the break time entertainment is curtailed. Workers might feel too much banal & this will affect thier work. Moreover, if the company want to monitor the internet use just by a software that will not be impactful . Because the employees can use internet on thier mobile phone. Hence, this evidence for the author conclusion is also languid.

FInally, If the author would provide some survey data that how many people are using internet during office time for entertainment purpose then it will be helpful to jusficate the argument. Furthermore, The company can fixed some fixed website for use which can be needed for working for the companie's purpose. This will helpful to the company. Besides this, CC tv should be installed to check up the workstation enviroment. This will help to identify who are using internet on mobile on the working hours. By conducting such methods the argument can be stregthen in favor of author' viewpoint.

In summary, the argument is unsubstantiated as it stands with such porosity. To bolster it further, the author must need to provide some concrete evidence perhaps by giving some survey data result of people who are using internet on working hours or by implicating some CCtv to monitor the workers activity.