The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Waste disposal has been issue as from the time humans started building cities. For instance, in the world’s oldest civilisation of mohenjodaro, sewers were built to take the waste from the cities. The prompt says that the best way to stop environmental damage caused by consumer-generated waste impose strict limits on the amount of trash cities and towns will accept from each household. I strongly disagree with this statement because of the following reasons.

Where would the waste the city is unwilling to take go? It would most likely end up being dumped hapahazardly, without proper procedures, at a place, where it would lcause more damage. Waste disposed without proper procedures would most lead to more diseases, more unsansitary conditions than the waste which the city disposes of itself.

Each household is different and depending on the number of people, the place of residence, the resources available to the people to prevent enivornmental damage, the quantity of waste varies. For example, a family of five lives in a house and a elderly couple live in one, the amount of trash will be different for both of them. Furthermore, if a household doesn’t get satisfactory quality drinking water and they have to install a reverse osmosis water purifer( it wastes half the water it takes as input) for needs, the familyshould not be punished for this wastage.

Quality of the trash also differs among households. Take an example where a household generates more waste but most of it is recyclable, it should not be punished and a household generating lower quantity of waste but majority of it non recyclable, let go. Expalning this further, if the people living in the city are unable to compost their own waste because of no space then they should not be penalised for no fault of their own.

The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is to take measures such reduce excessive packaging for example banning sliced bananas in plastic container even though nature has provided the fruit with its own bio degradable covering. Provide the people with more services such as helping them in composting their waste, providing them with more eco friendly options and educating them about them.This is the right way to stop consumer generated waste.