The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

I used to think that people could leverage any kinds of means to achieve worthy goals since the feats would help most people. Although the value of goals would beneficial to societies, now I believe that all means cannot become justifiable although some groups assert the goals are “valuable”.

In history, many assertions said that their targets were to enhance people’s well-being. However, the “well-being” was a kind of rethorical words, and the result from their assertions only served for some groups of people. The “segregate buy equal” doctrin, which was established by Plessy v. Ferguson rulling in 1896, also had its merist to promote people’s well-being. The advocators of the doctrin maintained that each ethnic group could preserve and enjoy its culture in its segregated places, so using powers of the government was a right way to enhance citizen’s lives. Their claim would be superficially reasonable, but the aftermaths of the doctrin – for example, different school quality and accesibility to social infra – eventually exacerbated the unequality between ethnic groups. Therefore, since the merits of goals would be only for them, some people could not easily say its means are justifiable, which could be violations to other people.

Some detractors assert that means could be justifiable if related groups could agree their measures. The detractors said that if every member who participates in discussions agrees with their decision, the decision and its post-actions would be not unjustifiable since all members affected by the decision also attended whole processes of decisions. They point out that a decision to restrict to expolit Amazon river was justifiable since the decision was made by the US in which Brazil, which belongs most of the Amazon area, also participated the discussion and agreed the UN’s decision. However, these decision processes also cause problems since oftenly the participants are not exatly the same with people who are affected by the decisions. Although Brazil goverment agreed the decision, the citizens who lived in Amazon area could not make their voice about the decision properly, and even the Brazil government did not give proper rewards.

Therefore, I believe that although a goal is “apperently” worthy, any means could not be justifiable. I acknowledge that agreements could be a solution to justify their measures. Although participating related meetings seems to rationalize the effect of the meeting to the participants, given that there could be victims ignored by the representative participants, the merits of the goals could not be absolute answers making every means justifiable.