Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author concluded that the decline in the deer populations is a result of them being unable to follow their normal migration patterns. This statement is based on limited evidence and assumptions made by the author. In order to better support the claim made here the author must provide more specific evidence.

To begin, the author makes the assumption that reports given by local hunters are accurate. It is possible that the local hunters the author mentions are incorrect about the decline of the deer. To provide a stronger argument the author should include the number of hunters who report the decline. They should also seek more accurate data on the deer populations of Canada’s arctic regions. If they find that there truly is more data supporting a decrease this would strengthen the conclusion made in this argument.

Moreover, the author makes the assumption that global warming is leading to ice melt in the artic deer habit. They base this assumption on global trends of sea ice melt caused by global warming. To strengthen this argument the author should provide data and research on the ice melt specially in the Canada’s arctic region. Information that supports that global warming is affecting this region would strengthen the argument, however if no information shows that there is ice melt in this area the argument would be weakened.

In addition, the author makes an assumption about the migration patterns of the deer being the cause of the decrease in the populations. Many other factors could be leading to a decline in the population. For example, a disease could be killing off the deer. Another possibility is that their food sources are being depleted by either completion or habitat conditions. The deer could also be declining due to hunting practices in the area. Unstainable hunting could be reducing the populations too much to rebound in the next season. The author would need to find out the information on these subjects in order to strengthen their argument and prove that migration is truly the cause of the decline.

In conclusion, the author comes to the conclusion that deer population decline in the Canadian artic is caused by disruptions in migration patterns. To better prove and support this argument the author needs to provide more of the specific evidence mentions above. The assumptions made by the author may be correct, but more information is needed in order to strengthen the argument or show that the argument is weak.