The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books is to open a cafe in its store to attract more customers.This recommendation is based on the facts that the store is known for its wide selection of books so opening a cafe will attract more customers and increase its sales and also since its competitor Regal books has opened a cafe in its store.To make this recommendation look convincing a few questions need to be answered.

Firstly, how can we be sure that just because the book store is known for its wide variety of books, its customers are feeling the lack of a cafe here and opening a cafe will attract more customers.These two are not related.It may be possible that the customers feel the quantity of books in its various sections are less and increasing them would attract more customers.Or may be the staff is less and increasing them would increase customer satisfaction thereby attracting more customers.If any of this scenario has merit then the argument is significantly flawed.

Secondly, we need to know what percent of the customer base does children under 10 form.Just because the overall percent of population of children under 10 is decreasing doesn't mean the number of children under 10 entering the store is less and will be reducing further.It may be possible that a high percentage of customers are the children under 10 itself and removing that section can significantly hurt the sales of the store.Therefore, this argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, there is no mention of how its competitor Regal books is doing after opening a cafe within the store.It may be possible that the sales of the books have considerably reduce after opening a cafe because the customers didn't like the taste or ambience of the place.May be by introducing a cafe there is a lot of noise in the store which is irritating the customers and thereby reducing the number of customers entering the store.This argument is not convincing enough until this question is answered.

To sum up, the recommendation from the Board of Directors is highly flawed due to its reliance on many unwarranted assumptions. The Board of Directors need to come up with more data to make their evidences look convincing.