The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday.

Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In this argument, the author concludes that Acme need to require all of their employees to take Easy Read Speed- Reading Course to improve productivity. To bolster the argument, the author points out productivity of other companies have been improved after having their employees take the course. However, unless several questions being answered, it does not hold water.

Firstly, the author mentions that the faster a person can read, the more information he or she can absorb in a single workday based on the statements of two graduates of the course. But are the selected two respondents representative of all users? If the two graduates also take other lessons despite of the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course, and keep reading magazines like the New York Times and the Guardian, they may have tremendous improvement after taking this course. On the contrary, other users may not take other courses and never do additional reading after the course, and their improvement may be limited. Therefore, to back the statement, the author should provide more information about whether the two graduates are representative or not.

Secondly, the assumption that Easy Read is a small price to pay when users consider the benefits is not warranted. How huge are the benefits? It is possible that even the user of the course can be promoted from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year, the increased salary can not make up for the cost of the course. Thus, without additional information of the accurate benefit of the course, it is difficult to access the merit of the assumption.

Thirdly, the author uses the positive consequence of other companies after urging their employees to take the course to back the recommendation that Acme need to require all of their employees to take Easy Read Speed- Reading Course. However, the author needs to answer additional questions to further bolster the recommendation. Are the other companies identical enough to Acme that Acme is comparable to other companies? If other companies provide additional training to their employees on reading ability, but there is no training of Acme, the employees in Acme may not do as good as employees in other companies. In conclusion, on order to further strengthen the recommendation, I could need more detailed information involving whether those companies are comparable to Acme.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as it fails to answer indispensable questions. If the argument had included more information about whether the two graduates are representative, whether those companies are comparable to Acme and the accurate benefit of the course, it would have been logically acceptable.