The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee."We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the president of Grove College, the college should keep all female inorder to improve student's morale and attract alumnae to support the college financially. However, some information regarding the survey, the morale as well as financial support is required in order to evalute the argument.

To begin with, we need more evidence about the soundness of the survey with regard to the attitude of students in the college. According to the argument, about 80 percent of the students who responds to the survey hope the school to remain all female, but this might not reveal the thought of most students. Perhaps the student government only interviewed a few people, whose number is relative small compared with the total number of students in the college. If that is the case, the survey will not reflect the willingness of most people. Similarly, It is equally possible that the survey did not choose the students randomly. Under such circumstance, the students government might find students who dislike to share the campus with female students. Therefore, we need more information to rule out these possibilities in order to justify the argument.

Even if the survey about the students on campus can actually represent most students in the college, more information about students' morale is required so as to examine the validness of the argument. The president argues that student's morale will be improved if this school perform what students hope. This might not true, however, given the possibility that students are more likely to gain morale from other sources. For example, if many other colleges in this city also preserve their century-old tradition of all female education, this feature in Grove College will undoubtedly not let them feel the sense of identification, resulting in no improvement of morale. As a result, it is important for the college to find out whether remaining all-female will enhance morale among students before we conclude.

Finally, we still need more evidence about the survey regarding the alumnae. According to the president, over half of the alumnae oppose coeducation. But we need to know whether the alumnae who received the survey will have enough financial resources to support the college. It is possible that the students they interviewed have just graduated and entered workplace which means they are less likely to support the college these years with limited salary and they might change their idea after many years. If so, the college will not receive much support from alumane even if they decide to keep the school all female.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the presidents hope that the morale among students could improve and the college could receive more financial support, but further investigation mentioned above are supposed to be conducted in order to evaluate the soundness of the argument.<br>