The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health CouncilAn innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East M

The West Meria Public Health Council is suggesting new ways that can combat absenteeism in their schools and workplaces. Due to a report that correlates the amount of fish that is consumed to minimal amounts of Doctor visits a year, the West Meria Public Health council is recommending the daily use of Ichthaid – a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil - to prevent colds and ultimately lower absenteeism in the community. However, in order to deem this credible, much specific evidence is needed to further strengthen their claim.

First, significant research is needed to support the claim that eating a substantial amount of fish will reduce Doctor visits. Although fish consumption is very high in nearby East Meria, it is not clear that this is the reason why people only visit the Doctor once or twice per year. It is possible that many other factors such as lack of insurance or environmental factors can account for the health quality of individuals. For example, if those in the East Meria community are physically active because they catch a lot of their own fish, it is possible that their quality of health is due to their physical well-being and not because of how much fish they are consuming. External factors such as these have a big impact on why or why not people are going to the Doctors and are extremely important to account for. These hidden factors ignored by the author thus weaken the recommendation.

Secondly, we need to provide significant evidence that Ichthaid is actually able to fight colds just as well as regular consumption of fish. Even if it is true that eating fish can prevent colds, will the benefits derived from a nutritional supplement have the same impact on a person as much as real fish does? The author suggests that since Ichthaid is a supplement derived from fish oil, it’s benefits must be equivalent to eating fish itself. However, the author does not provide enough data to support this claim. Along with this, we must provide qualitative data regarding proper dosage of this supplement to each individual. Clearly, children who take this supplement will have a different dosage requirement than adults do due to biological size and metabolism.

In order to strengthen this argument that eating a copious amount of fish will reduce time at the Doctor’s and thus, reduce absences in school, a control group consisting of people not eating fish must be present. By introducing a population that does not eat any fish and comparing how often they visit the Doctors each year for a cold, we will be able to better represent the actual correlation of these claims. Since the initial study produced by the West Meria Public Health organization failed to do this comparison, there is no premises to compare the actual impact of eating fish or not eating fish.

In conclusion, the claim that taking Ichthaid daily to prevent colds and absenteeism is rather weak. If the author takes into account the potential evidence behind the event and can better compare those who eat a significant amount of fish to those who do not, the argument would be greatly strengthened. Without the additional evidence to support, the recommendation cannot bring the efficacious effects as predicted.