The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Super Screen Movie Production Company is worried that they are not reaching enough target audience even tough they have received positive feedback from most of the viewers. They think the problem is, that the contents of the review is not reaching enough viewers and the viewers lack awareness that movies of good quality are produced. They think that the best way to reach out to the target audience is to put the greater share of budget to the advertising department.

I think the Super Screen Movie Production company has taken only one thing into the account that people are less aware of their movie. That might be the case but they do fail to consider few problems. First they need to differentiate the movies to the type with A list actors and without A list actors. In entertainment industry, movies having A list actors attract more crowd than one without them as they have their dedicated fan following from years of hard work.

They might have neglected to consider the type of audience reviewing the movie. Sometimes people does not like certain content as they might find it offensive, so they might choose to boycott the movies. So it might happen the lesser number of audience that is watching the movie find it good and those who do not find it good does not see the movie.

One of the major criteria that determine the success of the movies is the time it is released. If it is released with a movie with other A list actor then there might be a competition which is declining number of viewers. Another time movies don't do that well is the time when there are no holidays in the near future. Movies released during holiday season tend to do well than the movies that is not released in the holiday season.

Therefore, the production company should look into other prospectives before assigning major share of its budget to advertising. It might take time to find out the root cause, but it would surely yield them more profit.